Logo PHC Home >> Varia

Only good manners needed in "the Diouf incident"

1) Introduction

I recently became a member of the "Shadow Cabinet" for the Christian Heritage Party, as Critic for International Cooperation, La Francophonie and Official Languages.

2) The Facts

(All my information comes from Le Devoir newspaper for May 16, 2006, and the official web site for the OIF [Organisation internationale de la francophonie]).

Mr. Abdou Diouf, ex-President of Senegal, and current Secretary-General of the OIF, came to Saint-Boniface (Manitoba, Canada) for the "Ministerial conference on the prevention of conflicts and for human security", held May 13-14, 2006.

As head of the OIF, Mr. Diouf holds the rank of "Head of State". But Canada's responsible minister, Ms. Josée Verner, was not at the airport to greet him. From what I understand, Mr. Diouf was treated just as badly as me, last time I took the airplane from Québec City to Saint-John, New-Brunswick (he was forced to remove his belt and shoes by airport security guards, while being screened).

The Foreign Affairs Minister of Senegal read a statement at the Ministerial conference, according to which "this grave incident, the very contrary of international diplomatic decorum, has struck the conscience of the international community in general, and the African and Senegalese conscience in particular".

3) Some thoughts on this affair

I hope the media give as much airtime and newspaper space to the official Declaration of this conference, concerning what it was actually all about - prevention of conflict and human security - as they did to Canada's "affront" to M. Diouf. Some members of the Opposition are calling for Ms. Verner's resignation.

Apparently neither Ms. Verner nor Mr. Stephen Harper have yet officially said they were sorry. No matter how silly the incident, my Mom always taught me that if you offend someone, you should say you're sorry.

Frankly I had no idea the head of some obscure organization could have "the rank of Head of State". Had I been in the shoes of Ms. Verner, I would not even have known I was supposed to go to the airport to greet Mr. Diouf. So perhaps the Opposition should ask for my resignation, too!

4) Conclusion

Note to myself: If I ever get elected, and designated Minister of so-and-so, I will give the red carpet treatment to all unknown persons with long titles, and grovel in excuses, if for some reason, they complain. It's inexpensive, and it works.

Contact Get Involved! Version française

Logo PHC Accueil >> Varia

Il ne manque que les bonnes manières dans «l'incident Diouf»

1) Introduction

Récemment, je suis devenu membre du «Cabinet fantôme» pour le Parti de l'Héritage chrétien, en tant que critique de la Coopération internationale, de la Francophonie et des langues officielles.

2) Les faits

(Toute mon information provient du journal Le Devoir du 16 mai, 2006, et le site web officiel pour l'OIF [Organisation internationale de la francophonie]).

M. Abdou Diouf, ancien Président du Sénégal et actuel Secrétaire général de la Francophonie, est venu à Saint-Boniface (Manitoba, Canada) pour la «Conférence ministérielle sur la prévention des conflits et la sécurité humaine», qui a eu lieu les 13 et 14 mai 2006.

En tant que chef de l'OIF, M. Diouf détient «le rang de chef d'État». Mais la ministre responsable, Mme Josée Verner, n'était pas à l'aéroport pour l'accueillir. D'après ce que je peux comprendre, M. Diouf a été traité tout aussi mal que moi, la dernière fois que j'ai pris l'avion de Québec à Saint-John au Nouveau-Brunswick (les agents de sécurité à l'aéroport l'ont obligé à retirer sa ceinture et ses souliers, pendant qu'on le faisait passer l'examen de sécurité ou «airport screening».)

Le Ministre des Affaires étrangères du Sénégal a lu un communiqué à la Conférence ministérielle, selon lequel «cet incident grave, aux antipodes des convenances diplomatiques internationales, a heurté la conscience de la communauté internationale en générale, celle africaine et sénégalaise en particulier».

3) Quelques pensées sur cette histoire

J'espère que les médias vont donner autant de temps d'antenne et d'espace dans les journaux à la Déclaration officielle de cette Conférence, concernant le sujet réel - la prévention du conflit et la sécurité humaine - que ce qu'ils ont fait pour «l'affront» du Canada envers M. Diouf. Certains membres de l'Opposition exigent la démission de Mme Verner.

Apparemment ni Mme Verner ni M. Stephen Harper n'ont encore officiellement dit qu'ils s'excusaient. Aussi bête que soit l'incident, ma Mère m'a toujours enseigné que si on offense quelqu'un, il faut s'excuser.

Honnêtement, je ne savais pas que le chef d'une obscure organisation pouvait détenir «le rang de chef d'État». Si j'avais été à la place de Mme Verner, je n'aurais même pas su que j'étais supposé aller à l'aéroport pour accueillir M. Diouf. Alors peut-être que l'Opposition devrait exiger aussi ma démission!

4) Conclusion

Mémo pour moi-même: Si jamais je suis élu, et nommé Ministre de telle ou telle chose, je vais traiter aux petits oignons toutes les personnes inconnues ayant de longs titres, et je vais me confondre en excuses si pour une raison ou une autre ils se plaignent. Ça coûte pas cher, et ça marche.

Contact Militez! English Version