Logo PHC Home >> Varia

A Letter to the Editor by Ron Gray (2006-Jan-02)

In 2006, Canadians must seriously consider political alternatives. And Christians must shake off their apathy - one survey says that 52% of Christians failed to vote in 2004 - and fulfill their duty to God and country.

This is a turbulent time in federal politics - the sort of time during which radical changes are possible.

Both the big parties' recent statements sound as though they expect majorities. But both are whistling past the graveyard. The Liberals will be punished for betraying the public's trust, and the Conservatives can at best hope for only a minority: for two decades they have nurtured hostility towards Quebec, and that legacy now prevents the needed break-through in la belle Province.

In this circumstance, voters ought to consider seriously the possible impact on the two big parties if we vote for a party that is based on principles, rather than pragmatism.

It is pointless to consider the NDP, which is still ideologically committed to the failed socialist policies of the past; rather, I urge everyone to consider the CHP, Canada's only pro-life, pro-family federal party, and the only party that has a plan for curtailing the political activism of the Supreme Court.

Every vote for the CHP will compel the bigger parties to consider seriously the crucial moral issues that will shape the nation we pass on to our children. Continuing the moral relativism of the past half-century would doom them to further social, moral and economic catastrophes - we must convince politicians that the grass-roots of Canada demand change... and Christians must tell the big old parties that we will no longer be taken for granted.

Contact Get Involved! Version franšaise

Logo PHC Accueil >> Varia

Une lettre au rédacteur-en-chef par Ron Gray (2006-jan-02)

En 2006, les Canadiens doivent prendre en sérieuse considération les alternatives politiques. Et les chrétiens doivent secouer leur torpeur - un sondage dit que 52% des chrétiens n'ont pas voté en 2004 - et n'ont donc pas fait leur devoir pour Dieu et leur pays.

Nous vivons une période de turbulence en politique fédérale - le genre de période dans laquelle des changements radicaux sont possibles.

Les déclarations récentes des deux gros partis font penser qu'ils s'attendent à des majorités. Mais les deux se trompent peut-être. Les Libéraux seront punis pour avoir abusé de la confiance du public, et les Conservateurs peuvent tout au plus espérer une minorité: pendant deux décennies, ils ont fomenté l'hostilité envers le Québec, et cet héritage empêche maintenant la percée dont ils ont besoin dans la belle Province.

Dans ces circonstances, les électeurs doivent considérer sérieusement l'impact sur les deux gros partis, si nous votons pour un parti qui s'appuie sur des principes, plutôt que sur le pragmatisme.

Il ne sert à rien de penser au NPD, qui est encore idéologiquement engagé envers les vieilles politiques socialistes qui ont échoué; au contraire, j'encourage tous les électeurs à considérer le PHC, le seul parti politique fédéral du Canada qui est pro-vie, pro-famille, et le seul qui a un plan pour freiner l'activisme politique de la Cour suprême.

Chaque vote pour le PHC va inciter les plus gros partis à prendre en sérieuse considération les questions morales qui vont façonner le pays qu'on va léguer à nos enfants. Continuer avec le relativisme moral du dernier demi-siècle condamnerait nos enfants à d'autres catastrophes sociales, morales et économiques - nous devons convaincre les politiciens que les Canadiens exigent du changement... et les chrétiens doivent dire aux partis gros et bien établis que dorénavant, ils ne pourront plus nous prendre pour acquis.

Contact Militez! English Version